State Awards

New state awards have been established by the Leadership Team.                  List and guidelines of new awards.

2018 Legacy of Leadership Awardee:

Nina Thayer, Los Alamos

2017 Mission in Action Awardee: 

New Mexico Network for Women in Science and Engineering

Awards History – pre-2014

Grace Barker Wilson Award

  • 2013 Grace Barker Wilson Awardee: Helena Whyte of Los Alamos Branch and Online Branch.
  • Grace Barker Wilson Biography
  • For a list of past years Grace Barker Wilson Award recipients, click here.

The Marjorie Bell Chambers Ingenious Ideas Award

2015 Winners of the Ingenious Ideas Award:

  • Best Ingenious Idea: Albuquerque Branch for Reunion Tech Trek 2014 a reunion for the girls who attended Tech Trek in Las Cruces, held March 2015 at UNM

Runners-up with innovative collaborations:

  • Los Alamos Branch for Dust Bowl Exhibit & Community Book Discussions, a collaboration with Mesa Public Library and Los Alamos Public Schools
  • Grant County Branch for Hunger for Knowledge Dinner, a collaboration with the sociology students of WNMU under Dr. Emma Bailey

2013 Winners of the Ingenious Ideas Award:

  • Santa Fe Branch for its community outreach to the Esperanza Shelter for victims of domestic abuse.
  • Las Cruces Branch for bringing the issue of sexual assault in the military to the public by purchasing a copy of The Invisible War and having it shown at local theaters.
  • Los Alamos Branch for its Holiday Community Outreach Program to assist families and women in need in Northern New Mexico.

Terry Sleight Memorial Award

In memory of Terry Sleight, a long-time women’s advocate, AAUW-NM board member, lobbyist, and dear friend, the New Mexico State AAUW established the Terry Sleight Memorial Award in 2005.This award is given out annually to an individual AAUW-NM member or group of members in recognition of their efforts in advancing women’s issues.

2013/2014 Award Recipients:
Ruth Benjamins, Las Cruces
Lina Germann, Santa Fe
Betty Walker Smith, Albuquerque

2012/2013 Award Recipient: Flossie Brown, Santa Fe Branch
2011/2012 Award Recipient: Jan Lifson Bray, Albuquerque
2010/2011 Award Recipient: Dixie Trebbe, West Mesa/Albuquerque
2009/2010 Award Recipient: Jeanette Wallace, Los Alamos
2008/2009 Award Recipient: Corrine Howard, West Mesa
2007/2008 Award Recipient: Jean Bahr, Santa Fe
2006/2007 Award Recipient: Dolores Halls, Las Cruces
2005/2006 Award Recipient: Carolyn Glen Kaye, Albuquerque Branch