AAUW-NM Mission in Action Award

AAUW-NM Mission in Action Award Nominations will be accepted until May 15, 2021

Nomination Mission form.docx

Nomination Mission form.pdf

Description: Biennial award given in odd-numbered years to recognize a person, group of people, or organization that exemplifies and furthers AAUW’s mission. Nominees potentially would be a person (educator, legislator, judge, business person, AAUW member, etc.) or group that has made major contributions to improve women’s and children’s status, education, and/or well-being in New Mexico. The award is open to both AAUW members and nonmembers who live and work in New Mexico.

Purpose: To honor and recognize a person or group that exemplifies and/or furthers AAUW’s mission. This award is designed to raise awareness and visibility of AAUW in New Mexico as well as of contributions made to empowering women.

Criteria (must meet all):

  • Significant and major contribution to the education, advancement, or well being of women and children in New Mexico.
  • Person or group exemplifies and furthers AAUW’s mission of advancing equity for women and girls through advocacy, philanthropy, and research.
  • Nominees are residents of New Mexico (or a majority of a group’s members are residents of New Mexico). An AAUW-NM branch is eligible.
Who nominates Branch board or council, AAUW-NM Leadership Team, or individual member of AAUW-NM.
Nomination deadline Three weeks before winter AAUW-NM Leadership Team Meeting.
Nomination process Complete a nomination form available on the AAUW-NM website and send to AAUW-NM Awards Chair. Awards Committee will review and submit no more than three nominations for final consideration.
Selection process Secret ballot to current elected members of AAUW-NM Leadership Team and Immediate Past President one week before winter Leadership Team Meeting. Completed ballot to be returned to Awards Chair before or at winter Leadership Team Meeting.
When awarded AAUW-NM convention, with first award to be given during 2017 convention.
Award A plaque, trophy, certificate, or other suitable item worthy of the award and engraved with award name, recipient’s name, and year. The Awards Committee will prepare an article about the recipient to be published in Summer Roadrunner and posted on AAUW-NM website. The AAUW-NM Media Relations Chair will publicize this award widely, including in the recipient’s hometown print and electronic media as well as in Albuquerque media.
Award budget $125
Review cycle Reviewed by Leadership Team every four years.